Hilltop Racing

‘The Flying Ace’ parks it in victory lane in week 2 on The Hill

The 14 of Corey Conley battles Shane McLoughlin on The Hill

After a few morning showers, racing action was underway at Hilltop Speedway for the second night of the 2019 season with all regular divisions on the night’s schedule for the Friday, April 12 showcase.

For the first time this season, the mini wedge division was in action with a total of nine youngsters. Heat race wins went to siblings Miccah and Roscoe Greiner, setting the front row of their 10-lap feature. With the green out, Roscoe would take the early lead as Darryn Markey and Miccah battled it out for second. Six laps down, Miccah would work her way around Markey to claim second, looking to pressure her brother for the lead. With a last-lap pass, Miccah would drive around Roscoe to pick up her first feature win on the year. Third went to Markey, fourth Chadwick Craver and fifth Casey Stillion.

Among a field of 13 Holmes Tire late models, it was Larry Bellman setting fast time with a 14.080. A single heat race win went to Vic Hottinger while Shane McLoughlin claimed the dash win and pole position for the night’s 25-lap feature event.

Bringing the field to the green, it was “The Flying Ace” Corey Conley charging off two on the outside to take the lead as JR Gentry claimed second off four with one lap in the books. After early cautions and single-file restarts, Conley would again retain the top spot as Gentry looked in. However, troubles for Gentry off four with seven laps down would allow Conley to pull away. Meanwhile, McLoughlin and Todd Brennan would close in, making it a three-way battle for second with Gentry ultimately falling to fourth. Undeterred, Gentry would battle his way back up to second by lap 17 when caution would once again come out. Back under green, Conley would again claim the top spot, and that is where he would remain, starting his season off just where he finished 2018: in victory lane. Rounding out the top five was JR Gentry, Shane McLoughlin, Rick Mardis and Vic Hottinger.

The Holmes Pest Control street stocks featured a nine-car field with heat race wins going to Kevin and David Potts. As the green dropped, David Potts would take the lead from the outside pole, ultimately putting nearly a straight away between himself and second-place Kevin Potts. Unfortunately, with a mere four laps to go, troubles for the leader arose as he would lose power entering turn one, forcing his night to end early. Back under green, Kevin Potts would claim the top spot as Michael Amick pressured from second. Potts, fending off his challengers, would pick up his first feature win of the year. Finishing second was Michael Amick, third Norm Aronhalt, fourth Tyler Nicely and fifth Justin Lorentz.

Setting fast time among 12 Bugs R Gone modifieds was Kyle Moore with a 15.595 with a single heat race win going to “Rockin’ Robin” Duston and dash win to DJ Cline. Setting the pace to the green, pole sitter Cline would jump out to an early lead over Bruce Miller and Kyle Moore, who would battle it out for second. Moore, looking to the inside of Miller, charging off two, side by side down the backstretch, would ultimately claim the second spot with six laps down. By lap 10 Moore would look to reel in Cline, using lap traffic to close the gap. However, trouble for Moore off two with 14 laps down would enable Cline to pull away and Kevin Morehouse to close in. Nevertheless, after leading green to checker, picking up the feature win, it was DJ Cline, followed by Moore, who would fend off a late charge by Morehouse. Finishing fourth was Robin Duston and fifth Jess Hartman.

A field of 17 made up the Rigz Towing and Synder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer modlites with heat race wins going to Jimmy Smith and Tanner McLoughlin. After several cautions to start the feature, a single-file start resulted in Smith taking the top spot as McLoughlin looked in. Working Smith’s bumper, with five laps to go, red flag conditions would halt racing as Cody Dye would be tended to on the front stretch after a roll over, of which he was OK. Once again back under green, “The Toboso Bullet” Smith would retain the top spot, going on to pick up back-to-back wins on the season. Second went to McLoughlin, third Clint Snyder, fourth Cody Stillion and fifth Jon Preston.

Picking up a new sponsor, the Newfast Motorsports truck division had a field of nine with Rolly Heyder and Darek Cordia each claiming a heat race win. With the field set, Heyder would jump out front. Lap after lap Heyder would pull away from the field, putting nearly a half of a track between himself and second place of Dwayne Powell. Therefore, as the checkered dropped, it was Rolly Heyder crossing first. However, due to the use of a rearview mirror, Heyder would be disqualified after the race, therefore making Dwayne Powell the feature winner. Powell was followed by Corey Mills, Logan Duncan, David Reed and Darek Cordia.

The Newfast Motorsports mini stocks had a full field of 18 with Jordan James and Brad Hensel picking up a heat race win each. Jumping out early was outside pole sitter Hensel, who would lead with one lap in the books. Meanwhile, the battle for second would ensue between James and Corey Staley with James claiming the position. Setting his sights on Hensel, James would close the gap as they began to work through lap traffic. However, caution with five laps down would bunch the field back up. Under green, Hensel would again take the top spot, fending off his competition to pick up back-to-back wins. Second went to James, third Wes Staley, fourth Corey Staley and fifth Wyatt Zimmerman.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *