Hilltop Racing

Powell picks up win in Newfast Motorsports Truck Special

After weeks of uncooperative weather, racing was finally back underway at Hilltop Speedway with all seven divisions on the night’s agenda as well as driver’s autograph night, allowing fans of all ages a chance to meet their favorite drivers.

First to hit the track were the mini wedges with a field of 12. Heat race wins went to Micah and Roscoe Greiner. With the green out, Roscoe would take the lead with one lap down. After numerous cautions, green was back out, Roscoe still claiming the top spot as young Darrin Markey would make his way through the field up to second. Nevertheless, as the checkered dropped, it was Roscoe Greiner picking up the win, followed by Markey, Bryson Alexander, Timmy Nester and Casey Stillion.

With nearly a full field of 17, Newfast Motorsports trucks for their $500 to win special had heat race wins with Josey Lillibridge and Logan Duncan.

After redrawing top four from the heats, the field was set, and Chris Hicks would take the early lead. However, pressuring from second was Lillibridge. Side by side off turn two, Lillibridge would drive around Hicks off four to take the lead with four laps down. A caution with seven down, Lillibridge would again take the top spot as challengers Dwayne Powell and Rolly Heyder would make for a three-wide battle for the lead. Eight laps down, Powell would surpass Lillibridge for the lead. Heyder, now second, would challenge Powell as they worked through lap traffic. With the checkers in the air, fending off Heyder, Dwayne Powell would find himself sitting in victory lane once again. Third went to Lillibridge, fourth Hicks and fifth Duncan.

Setting fast time among 16 Holmes Tire late models was Brian Baumberger with a time of 14.083. A single heat race win went to Vic Hottinger with “The Flying Ace” Corey Conley picking up the dash win.

Bringing the field to the start of their 25-lap feature event, Conley and Todd Brennan would go head to head for the lead, Brennan edging out to take lap one. Lap for lap Conley would work the bumper of Brennan as the two approached lap traffic with a mere seven laps down. Caution, eight laps down, would bunch the field back up for the restart. Back under green, Brennan would again take the lead; however, Conley would charge off two, side by side down the backstretch, to claim the lead off four with nine laps down. Meanwhile, looking to take second, JR Gentry would make his presence known as he also would surpass Brennan, setting his sights on Conley. Twenty-two laps in, the two worked their way through lap traffic, Conley ensuring his place out front, picking up another win on the season. Rounding out the top five was Gentry, Brennan, Mitch Basich and Shane McLoughlin.

Gary Hensel, Jordan James and Wayne Newbury each would pick up a win among the 26 entered Newfast Motorsports mini stocks. A single b-main win would go to Darren Thornsley.

After a top-three redraw, Terry Medley and Jordan James would set on the front row. With the green out, James would claim the early lead as Hensel worked his way from fourth to challenge for the top spot. Hensel, looking to claim his first win on the year, would surpass James for the lead with four laps down. Three laps to go, caution would come out, bunching the field up for the restart. Back under green, Hensel would again take the top spot, picking up his first win of the season. Second went to James, third Corey Staley, fourth Jason St. John and fifth Wayne Newberry.

Among a field of 26 in the Bugs R Gone modified division, Nathon Loney set fast time with a 15.470. Heat race winners were Scott Peltz and “The Logger” Kevin Morehouse while the dash win went to Jimmy Smith. Picking up the last chance race was Pete Caplinder.

With the field set, the green was out, and Kyle Moore would take the early lead as Smith and Dj Cline battled it out for second. Caution with six laps down, Moore would again take the lead while Cline would make his move to secure second. Fourteen laps down, Morehouse would work the bumper of Smith to claim third, looking in at Cline. However, troubles for Morehouse would cause him to fall back in the field. A couple late race cautions, five and three to go, would set up for single-file restarts, of which Moore would continue his lead, ultimately picking up his first feature win on the season. Finishing second was Cline, third Smith, fourth Chris Basich and fifth Nathon Loney.

The Rigz Towing and Snyder Hot Shot Truck and Trailer modlites had a field of 20 with Cody Stillion, Tanner McLoughlin and Jimmy Smith each picking up a heat race win. A top-three redraw would place Jon Preston on the pole with Smith outside. With the drop of the green, Smith would take a familiar position at the front of the field. As the laps passed, Smith would remain out front as Tanner McLoughlin worked his way from sixth to second. However, fending off competitors for a third straight win was “The Toboso Bullet” Jimmy Smith, followed by McLoughlin, Joe Burkhead, Cole Petrelle and Cody Stillion.

Rounding out the night’s events were the Holmes Pest Control street stocks with a full field of 18. Heat race winners were “The General” George Lee and Bob Daugherty.

With the green out on their 15-lap feature, Daugherty would jump out front with Lee challenging. Meanwhile, working the bumper of Lee, Kevin Potts would drive around taking second with three laps down. Unfortunately troubles for Potts would send him pit side early. Back under green, Daugherty would retain the top spot as Michael Amick and David Potts battled it out for second with Lee falling to fourth. As laps dwindled, Amick would claim second over Potts. However, he would be unable to close the gap on Daugherty as he would pick up his second win on the season. Second went to Amick, third Potts, fourth Lee and fifth Tyler Nicely.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *