Hilltop Racing

Mumaw picks up win on first night of OVSCA double-header

Eric Nickelson Photo: Danny Mumaw in victory lane after the first race of the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association 2018 season.

Set to make their first appearance of the season, the Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association invaded Hilltop Speedway with some of the top sprint car drivers ready to do battle for their $2,000 to win.

Ryan Broughton would set fast time among 21 OVSCA sprints with a time of 12.224, nearing a track record. Among three heat races, wins would go to Danny Mumaw, Trey Jacobs and Danny Smith, setting the field for their 25-lap feature event.

As the pole setter, Mumaw set the pace to the green, and he would take the high side, claiming the lead. Meanwhile, Jacobs dropped to the inside line attempting to pressure Mumaw. After a number of cautions as well as a red flag for Kelsey Ivy, who walked away uninjured after her rollover, green flag laps were finally able to be strung together. Mumaw would once again claim the top spot, remaining unchallenged, lapping up to ninth position to go on and pick up the first feature win of the season for the OVSCA. Finishing second was Jacobs, followed by Smith, Broughton and TJ Michael.

Setting fast time among the Holmes Tire late models was Shane McLoughlin with a 14.375. A single heat race win went to Brad Mickley with JR Gentry picking up the dash win.

With the field set, the green was out for their 25-lap feature event. Door to door, Gentry and Corey Conley would battle for the lead with Conley taking the lead off of turn four. Undeterred, Gentry would charge back, working the bumper of Conley, looking for his way to the front. Using lapped traffic, Conley would look to put distance between himself and Gentry. Unfortunately, with four laps to go, caution would come out, forcing a single-file restart. Back under green, Conley would again claim the top spot, making it three for three in victory lane this season. Gentry, Kyle Moore, Vic Hottinger and John Wyer would round out the top five.

Heat race winners among the Rigz Towing modlites were Tanner McLoughlin and Jimmy Smith, setting them on the front row for the night’s feature. With the green out, Smith and McLoughlin would battle for the lead with Smith ultimately claiming the position. After a caution, two laps down, Smith would again retain the lead as Clint Snyder, Joe Burkhead and McLoughlin battled second through fourth. As the laps dwindled, Smith would remain out front and pick up the feature win. Second went to Burkhead, followed by Snyder, McLoughlin and John Large.

Among the Bugs-R-Gone trucks, Rolly Heyder would pick up a heat race win as well as the feature win. The second heat race win would go to Jerry Gardner. After an early caution, the green was out, and it was Heyder to the front, and that is where he would remain, picking up yet another feature win on his career. Finishing second and third was Josey Lillibridge and Zoe Stafford, who would work their way around outside pole setter Jerry Gardner, who would claim fourth. Mason Radcliff would round out the top five.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *