Hilltop Racing

Lewis picks up win among Ohio Thunder Racesaver Sprints

It was a perfect summer Saturday night for a little dirt track racing on The Hill with the return of the Ohio Thunder Racesaver Sprint Car Series among the divisions seeing action.

Making their second appearance this season at Hilltop Speedway, the Ohio Thunder Racesaver sprints featured a field of nine. Heat race winners were Rob Felix and Jim Lewis, placing them front row for their feature event. With the field set, the green was out, and it was Felix who took the early lead. Meanwhile, making his way through the field to battle for second was Jake Hesson. Side by side Hesson challenged Lewis, ultimately taking second coming off turn four with three laps down. Hesson, looking to reel in Lewis and make a charge for the lead, would be unable to surpass. Thus, after leading every lap, green to checkered, it was Lewis who would pick up the feature win, followed by Hesson.

Next out onto the speedway were the Holmes Tire late models with a field of 19. Setting fast time in the division was Rick Mardis with a time of 14.646. Picking up a heat race win each was Craig Wolford and Larry Holbrook with George Lee claiming the win in the dash. After a 25-lap feature event, it was “The General” Lee sitting in victory lane, picking up his first feature win of the season. Rounding out the top five was Jeromy Misel, Michael Davis, Brad Mickley and Mardis.

The next division to see action were the Rigz Towing modlites with a field of 12. With two heat races, wins went to Barry Jacobs and Chris Robinson, setting the front row of their 12-lap feature event. Coming off of four to the green, pole sitter Jacobs would jump out front early as the inside row of Tanner McLoughlin followed to claim second. Running strong all season, McLoughlin would challenge Jacobs for the top spot. Working his bumper, McLoughlin would take over the lead on lap three and not look back. Fending off challenges by Jacobs as well as Robinson, McLoughlin would go on to pick up his first feature win in the modlite division this season. Second went to Robinson, followed by Tim Maharg, Jacobs and Brandon Shaw.

Setting fast time among 15, Hangout in Danville modifieds was “The Logger” Kevin Morehouse with a time of 16.191. A single heat race win went to Bob Page as Lee picked up the dash win. Bringing the field down the backstretch, it was Lee and Kyle Moore (his first night out in the modified) on the front row. As the green dropped, Moore would jump out front over the field as Morehouse looked in from second. Caution would come out with a mere two laps in the books, forcing a single-file restart.

Back under green, Moore would once again retain the top spot with “The Logger” working the inside line challenging Moore for the lead. As the front runners began to work their way through lap traffic, Morehouse would close in on Moore, taking the lead on lap 11. Continuing to navigate his way through lap cars, Morehouse would begin to pull away as Lee would work his way past Moore for second with 18 laps down. Moreover, patiently working his way through the field up to challenge Moore for third was “Rockin” Robin Duston, who would ultimately claim the position just before the white flag. Nevertheless, going on to pick up his sixth straight feature win at Hilltop Speedway was Morehouse. Finishing second was Lee, followed by Duston in third, Moore in fourth and Kyle Brown in fifth.

The Bugs-R-Gone truck division had a field of nine with Rolly Heyder picking up the only heat race win. Heyder, bringing the field to the green, would take the early lead over outside pole sitter Donnie Danley. Meanwhile, the battle for second would ensue between Danley and Braxton Wilson with Wilson ultimately taking second. Two laps down, caution would come out, forcing the field up single file. Back under green, Heyder would again take the lead as Wilson would look for a way to the front as the front runners came up on lap traffic. Unfortunately caution would once again come out with 11 laps down as Danley, running a strong third, would spin out off of two, sending him to the tail for the restart.

Back under green, Heyder would maintain his position at the front of the field as Danley worked his way back up to fourth. Unfortunately there were troubles for Wilson as he went down the back stretch for the final lap, losing two positions. As the checker flag waved, it was Heyder (no strager to victory lane) picking up the feature win. Rounding out the top five was Travis Hare, Danley, Wilson and Zoe Stafford.

Rounding out the night’s events were the Holmes Pest Control street stocks with a field of 10. Heat race winners were John Wilson and Kevin Potts. Setting the pace to the green, it was Wilson who would take the early lead as the battle for second ensued between Kevin Potts and David Potts. With four laps down, caution would fly, bunching the field back up for the restart. Back to green, flag racing, Wilson would again take the top spot as David Potts would take to the high side for second. However, Kevin Potts would charge right back to take back second.

Caution once again with seven laps down bunched the field for single-file restart. With racing back underway, Wilson got a good start and would retain the top spot. Meanwhile, Bob Chilcote would get a run, looking to challenge the bumper of David Potts for third. However, caution would again come out, setting up a green, white checker finish. Back under green, Wilson would again take to the high side and retain the lead with Kevin Potts working the low line. Nevertheless, after leading every lap going on to pick up his third feature win of the season, it was Wilson, followed by Kevin Potts, Chilcote, David Potts and Tommy Lute.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *