Hiland athletes collect plenty of postseason accolades

By Dave Mast

Hiland High School recently completed its award ceremonies, and a number of great athletes were rewarded and honored for their efforts and achievements.

In cross country, Ms. Cross Country was presented to Melissa Hostetler, while Mr. Cross Country was awarded to Lorin Hershberger.

In volleyball, Kelsey Mast earned 1st Team IVC and 1st Team District 5. She will also represent Hiland in the East District All-Star Volleyball event Nov. 9 at 6 p.m. at Tuscarawas Central Catholic High School in New Philadelphia.

Hard-hitting Melanie Hostetler was tabbed as a 2nd Team IVC, 2nd Team East District participant, while Tonya Beachy made honorable mention IVC and 2nd Team East District.

Brittany Wengerd was honorable mention East District.

In team awards, Outstanding Offense Award went to Mast, the Outstanding Defense Award was presented to Hostetler, the Hawk Award went to Taylor Miller and Ms. Volleyball was presented to Mast.

In golf, Mark Schlabach made 1st Team IVC, Adam Grate was tabbed as 2nd Team IVC, as was Jacob Kalman, while Brandon Raber made honorable mention IVC.

The Most Improved During Season team award went to Kalman, while the Clutch Player award was presented to Tremper Coblentz.

The Most Improved Overall honor went to Grate, while Mr. Golf was presented to Schlabach for the second straight year.

In boys soccer, Brandon Kozak was named 1st Team GASSCA, 1st Team Wayne-Holmes and 1st Team Tri-County League. Fellow senior Brennan Coil earned 2nd Team GASSCA, 1st Team Wayne-Holmes and 2nd Team Tri-County League. Garrett Snow was named to the 1st Team Wayne-Holmes, with Zach Lowe being placed on the 2nd Team Wayne-Holmes and 1st Team Tri-County League. Josiah Koser earned 2nd Team Wayne-Holmes and 2nd Team Tri-County League.

In their team awards, Offensive MVP went to Snow, Defensive MVP was awarded to Koser, and Coach’s Awards were presented to Coil and Kozak, while Mr. Soccer went to Zach Lowe.

In girls soccer, team awards included Defensive MVP Lindsey Yoder and Most Improved to Emma Yoder. Coach’s Awards went to Beth Boyles and Lydia Beach while Ms. Soccer went to Julee Zinck.

Other honors for the Lady Hawks went to Sarah Menuez, who was named 1st Team Tri-County League, Julee Zinck made 1st Team All-District GASSCA (Greater Akron Scholastic Soccer Coaches Association), Megan Beechy, who earned 1st Team Tri-County League, Zinck, who was tabbed 2nd Team Tri-County League and Brandi Raber, who earned 2nd Team Tri-County League. Emma Yoder and Lindsey Yoder also made Honorable mention Tri-County League.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *